• Are Networks required to be SIGIS certified?

    Networks are only required to be SIGIS certified if they wish to use the SIGIS standards for IIAS and 90% transaction processing to support FSA / HRA cards for SIGIS certified merchants.  Networks that are not SIGIS certified, that process FSA / HRA card transactions across their network will see high card declines as the issuer / plan administrator will not have the required information to approve the transaction per IRS regulations for support an IIAS or 90% system.

  • How does a network seek certification?

    Card processing networks act as an intermediary between an acquirer and an issuer in the authorization of credit card and/or debit card transactions.

    SIGIS requires any network that uses and supports the SIGIS Technical Specification to process IIAS transactions to become certified.

    Below are the steps to obtain, complete and submit a Network Certification.

    1. Click the Login and enter login information.
    2. Click the Access IIAS Forms link on the right hand side of the page.
    3. A new window will open, select the Network Certification tab.
    4. Complete the form and submit.

  • Are the certification requirements different for PIN Networks than for Signature Networks?

    No, the certification requirements are the same for both network types.  For those organizations that support a PIN network and a signature network, a separate certification must be completed for each network type. 

    NOTE: The certification process for both network types is the same; however there may be a difference in the standards requirements. Click here to view the IIAS Transaction Specification.

  • How often is the SIGIS Member Networks list updated?

    SIGIS will post an updated member network list on a weekly basis.

  • How can I confirm my certification status?

    As a paid member of SIGIS in good standing, a network is able to confirm the status of its SIGIS Network Certification by visiting the  SIGIS Member Networks page. If the Network is listed as “Certified” then the network has completed the certification process.